08
Jan
10

Cold

This was taken the other morning at a local park. It as about 8:00 am. The temperature was in the low 20s. When I was through taking pictures, my hands were so cold that I can still “feel” that cold now.

This was shot in RAW with minimal post processing in Elements 7.

Nikon D40

1/250; F/9.0

ISO 200

11 Responses to “Cold”


  1. 1 danudin
    January 8, 2010 at 8:03 am

    Lovely spread of colours for a cold shot., looks bright and cherry.

  2. January 8, 2010 at 8:40 am

    Very well done, like all the shades in the shadows!!

  3. January 8, 2010 at 8:41 am

    You captured this in such sweet light. Half the battle of photography (to me anyway) is making use of natural light. This shot wouldn’t have worked nearly as well if shot in full sun or total shade. Very pretty!

    (I sympathize about the frozen fingers – I was out the last two days taking pics and had the same ‘condition’!)

  4. 4 Tammy McChesney
    January 8, 2010 at 10:31 am

    Great contrast between the dried plants and the stark white snow, also between the highlights and shadows…great timing!

  5. January 8, 2010 at 11:01 am

    I agree with that light, I love that light, it just give such a totally different look to things and last such a short time. Great job.

  6. January 8, 2010 at 11:28 am

    Very nice. I love the light and the details in the snow. It actually snowed here in Georgia, but I have been sick since it snowed, and I have not been outside.

  7. 7 Bobbie
    January 8, 2010 at 8:51 pm

    The lighting here is really nice. Snow can be difficult to shoot, but you;ve got the textures down with the help of the low golden light.

  8. 8 D. S. Fisher
    January 9, 2010 at 10:47 am

    Great job on this image especially with the light!

  9. January 12, 2010 at 12:31 am

    Those shrubs have a wonderful glow, how nice to catch that golden color and light with the blue/white snow. hope it has warmed up.

  10. January 15, 2010 at 3:42 am

    Funny…I see the sun on the twigs in this and the photo reflects warmth to me. Beautiful whichever way you look at it!

  11. January 29, 2010 at 12:34 am

    I like this picture. You captured the early sun on a cold day. I can feel the cold numbing my hands. The best part is the correct exposure.


Leave a Reply

