29
Jan
10

Mini Assignment #1 – Rule of Thirds

A snowy day always brings photo opportunities once I get myself out of the house. So yesterday I took the following picture.

For whatever reason I, and I believe, many others tend to center the key component of our images. It is something I continually fight against.  Well thanks to the digital world I am able to check my photo. As a result I took the following image where I moved the central element of the original image to the lower corner.

I think it makes a more interesting image. Let me know what you think

10 Responses to “Mini Assignment #1 – Rule of Thirds”


  1. January 29, 2010 at 4:47 pm

    Yes it does, I think the centering thing is to get the focus right, I find myself still doing thatm but if I intend to re-compose the shot I take up the first pressure on the shutter release get the confirmation on focus move the shot to what I want then complete the pressure on the release. That way the main subject is in focus no matter where in the shot it is. In your photo I specifically like the balancing elements provided by the added twigs in the snow!

  2. 2 Tammy McChesney
    January 29, 2010 at 6:20 pm

    I like how the snow covered bush in the corner leads your eyes to the test of the snow…great composition and wonderful example!

  3. January 29, 2010 at 6:24 pm

    This is a great example of Rule of Thirds. Thank-you I now understand it better.

  4. 4 Bobbie
    January 29, 2010 at 10:59 pm

    I’m really enjoying this mini-assignmant and how showing the before-and-after demonstrates the point of the “rules.” Yours is an excellent illustration of this.

  5. 5 Sue
    January 30, 2010 at 4:05 am

    perfect example of how the rule works!!!! Well done!
    Sue

  6. January 30, 2010 at 8:13 am

    Your eye really gets a chance to move around the frame when the rule of thirds is used. Otherwise, I find it just gets stuck in the center. Good example!

  7. January 30, 2010 at 8:26 pm

    I really like the picture cropped using the rule of thirds. The rule of third is something that I struggle with also. We are all learning.

  8. January 31, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    Great use of the theme. I love photos of ordinary things. Such a difference in composition!
    Wonderfully done and seen.

  9. February 4, 2010 at 9:06 pm

    A lesson well learned! It is much more interesting with the subject positioned to the lower left.


Leave a Reply

