01
Mar
10

Self-Portrait

I have loved taking pictures going back to my Kodak Brownie. I hope I have gotten better since then! I have lived in New England, Connecticut primarily, my whole life. For a while I resisted switching to digital photography and stuck with my 35mm SLR. When I finally made the switch I never looked back. Digital photography and the digital darkroom (I love it) let me do things that I could never have done before.

Anyway as much as I like to take photos, I really dislike having my picture taken. I thought long hard about this mini-assignment. So here is some background on why I took this photo. (Actually many photos before being OK with this one.)  I have been married for a long time. We have two children – a 29 year old married daughter and a 15 year old teenage son.  My daughter has a 20 month old little girl who is so sweet and such fun. Only problem is she lives in Florida. The decision to take this photo resulted from my daughter’s plan to put together a book for my granddaughter of photos of family members. I knew I had to take a self-portrait when my son-in-law asked if there was a picture of me to include. Therefore I took a no-frills, no creativity self-portrait. I took this without a flash and using a remote and a tripod. I did change the background to the happiest place on earth.

An additional thought – According to my daughter when my granddaughter saw the picture she smiled and waved at it. I am still smiling!

15 Responses to “Self-Portrait”


  1. 1 Tammy McChesney
    March 1, 2010 at 4:53 pm

    This is too fun…your granddaughter will be delighted w/ the castle in the background! Wow, you really got great clarity in this portrait, really very nice! Nice hearing a bit about you as well!

  2. March 1, 2010 at 4:55 pm

    Tell the truth, the background is just your country escape and your trying to play it down. Great Fun Family shot.

  3. March 1, 2010 at 5:37 pm

    This is a wonderful photo, one that your granddaughter will treasure. Great smile! I was born in Connecticut, so greetings to a fellow New-Englander!

  4. March 1, 2010 at 7:58 pm

    So nice to meet you, Deena! I think the big smile on your face is a reflection of how happy that little granddaughter makes you. It’s a great self-portrait and a nice bio to help us get to know you better…

  5. March 2, 2010 at 8:54 am

    Very creative idea. I lived states away from my grandparents and treasured the pictures and trinkets she would periodically send. I still remember them.

  6. March 2, 2010 at 9:16 am

    Nice to meet you Deena. What a great smile! Wonderful choice for the backdrop on your portrait, fits right in with the “Creative Bunch”

  7. March 2, 2010 at 8:33 pm

    A great portrait, Deena. I have often said that my grandchildren are going to be looking at picture in the future and ask why grandma was never a family functions. I think that I don’t have a single picture with me and my granddaughter.

  8. March 2, 2010 at 9:11 pm

    Well done self portrait. It’s more difficult than one would think and I give big props to anyone who does a self portrait as nicely as this one!

  9. March 2, 2010 at 10:11 pm

    Hi Deena, I’m part of your group now so it is nice to see a smiling face. I look forward to seeing more photos from you and of you.

  10. March 3, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    Great self portrait and bio. It’s great that your granddaughter’s was so awesome.

  11. March 3, 2010 at 5:15 pm

    Hi Deena, Love this shot. Nice to meet you and great Bio. Your stuck with me for the next two months in The infamous Creative group.

  12. March 5, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    Love that magnificent smile, Denna! Glad to meet you. If we hang around long enough, we’ll be in the same group one day if you like to be in the groups. Your granddaughter is going to treasure this photo, and so will you once time goes by. Great shot and treatment.

  13. March 5, 2010 at 8:07 pm

    So nice to meet you, Deena! Great composite job. What was your background initially?

  14. March 6, 2010 at 5:26 am

    I really like this picture Deena. Well done!

    My sister lives in Luxemburg and she did the same thing with pictures of all of us who still live in Sweden for her daughter.


Leave a Reply

