11
Mar
10

old fashioned

This (as my daughter reminded me) is a toy called Jacob’s Ladder. It is a toy that dates back to some time in the 1800s. I have always found it fascinating. It is amazing how someone was able to attach those ribbons to allow those simple blocks of wood to do all sorts of things. It is simply magic*.  Surprising to me is that my teenage son loves it. He enjoys playing with it in this age of computer and video games. You never know!

* “There’s a neat trick you can play with your Jacob’s ladder, which will baffle children (and, most likely, their elders): Fold up a dollar bill into a small rectangle and tuck it under one of the tapes. Then operate the toy. The dollar will successively disappear, appear, disappear, and so on, for no apparent reason.”- from woodcraftarts.com

This was taken on a tripod without a flash but with room lights on.

11 Responses to “old fashioned”


  1. March 11, 2010 at 3:20 pm

    Your comments have made me want to go out and get one! I love the distortion of the foreground and the DOF in this shot. It makes it look as if it is floating.

  2. 2 Tammy McChesney
    March 11, 2010 at 5:41 pm

    I need one of those! I’m not so sure I have ever seen one….but how cool! My boys love puzzles of sorts and I am sure they would think this was cool!

  3. March 12, 2010 at 8:04 am

    Great subject. Like the presentation but we are missing a bit on the left sde.

  4. March 13, 2010 at 10:02 am

    Oh, we had one of those when my kids were smaller, don’t know where it is now. So simple material and so fascinating how it works. Great rememberance, thanks for showing!

  5. March 13, 2010 at 8:44 pm

    The light in this photo is great. The bokeh is fabulous.

    • March 13, 2010 at 10:36 pm

      The bokeh was created in PSE 7. I inadvertently dropped my Nikon 55-200mm lens. Consequently the autofocus stopped functioning. This image was taken with the 18-55mm lens. I selected the toy and then blurred the background as it was way too busy. Did not mean to mislead anybody. My husband replaced the broken lens with a Nikon 70-300mm which I am very excited about.

  6. March 16, 2010 at 7:58 pm

    I love this. Looks like a toy I had as a child. I love they way you did the processing.

  7. March 16, 2010 at 10:08 pm

    I seem to remember that they found one in King Tut’s Tomb. That dates it back a couple thousand years. Great photo and take on this theme.


Leave a Reply

