11
Apr
10

Blooms

It is always amazing to me how quickly it seems, the world changes from a blah* winter to the revitalization of spring. All of a sudden it is there. The world of flowers is awakening and is much appreciated. Our weather has been exceptionally warm recently (we hit 90+ last week and I live in Southern Connecticut) and so maybe some of what I am seeing is a little early. Whatever the reason it makes one feel good! I believe these are cherry blossoms. If someone knows better then I, please let me know what they really are!

* While I enjoy winter early on, by now I am truly tired of it. The snow, while beautiful when it first falls, quickly turns to blah. The strongest blah time to me is when the snow is gone and there is no color in the world till the blooms begin appearing! Of course I am getting older and it is my responsibility to complain about the winter!

11 Responses to “Blooms”


  1. 1 Tammy McChesney
    April 11, 2010 at 10:49 am

    LOL, no it is my responsibility to complain!! I’m with you, the beginning of winter is beautiful, but the colorless world which follows is just depressing…I am loving living in a world of color (although our blooms aren’t quite here yet)…I love your treat of Springtime blooms, thanks for sharing those beauties!

  2. April 11, 2010 at 6:13 pm

    Love that your blooms are coming out of the frame – how did you do that?

    • 3 Deena
      April 12, 2010 at 12:40 pm

      It is pretty easy to have the blooms come out of the frame. It requires putting the frame on its own layer. Then select what you want “to come out of the frame”. Copy that on to its own layer and put that layer at the top over the frame. Voila- blooms coming out of the frame.

  3. April 11, 2010 at 10:55 pm

    Love the DOF and the pink. I second what jessica said, how did you do that?

  4. April 12, 2010 at 2:41 am

    Lovely pink cherry blossoms. I would like to know too how you got them to come out of the frame too. Very clever! I have enjoyed all the photos of snow. I dont get any here so my winter photos will not be as nice as all of yours have been. 😦

  5. 7 Sue
    April 12, 2010 at 2:57 am

    I was just thinking the same thoughts today..I was away over the weekend and when I came home the garden had just sprung into life LOL

  6. April 13, 2010 at 7:57 am

    Oh all the colors are even more awesome than usual this year I think. Because of the winter that is. We don’t get this much snow every year, and this year I really had the time to get tired of it, haha.

    Lovely cherry blossoms you’ve got here and I like that some of them come out of the frame. Well done!

  7. April 13, 2010 at 4:15 pm

    A very beautiful image. Great DOF. I like that out of frame thing that you did with it also. I, too, am very grateful to see spring this year.

  8. April 13, 2010 at 10:26 pm

    Thank God spring is here. Yes we had a lot of snow and cold weather here on Long Island. Beautiful cherry blossoms.

  9. April 15, 2010 at 6:37 pm

    Great image and processing!!


Leave a Reply

