15
Apr
10

Action

Nikon D40; ISO-400; 1/640 sec; f-stop-5.6; focal length-280mm; processed in RAW and cropped

My obsession continues! As I have been observing and photographing the Canada Geese, it appears to me that they are in pairs. This one goose was calling and calling. All of sudden this other goose came flying in and landed in front of me. Shortly thereafter the two took off for parts unknown – at least to me.

13 Responses to “Action”


  1. 1 Tammy McChesney
    April 15, 2010 at 9:31 am

    Love the drops of water suspended in mid air…another very cool image…I am loving your geese obsession!

  2. 2 Danudin
    April 15, 2010 at 2:52 pm

    Great shot but it isn’t parts ubknown, they just want to get away from you papparazi, is all. I must admit this one seems excited to be there.

    • April 16, 2010 at 2:26 pm

      Re: the paparazzi, you may be on to something especially with the ducks. Whenever I am patiently waiting for the ducks to fly, nothing happens . As soon as I turn back or get the least bit distracted, they are off. The geese tend to be quite noisy – honking and all. The ducks are far more stealthy!

  3. April 15, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    Great action image, love all the colors in the water!!

  4. April 15, 2010 at 5:39 pm

    I just love the water splash and all the reflections in the water. If you didn’t have this obsession I wouldn’t get to see photos of them at all! So Keep it up!Is that geese sticking its tongue out at you? How cheeky!

  5. 6 Sue
    April 15, 2010 at 6:30 pm

    Yes our geese mate for life..they also care for each others goslings in a day care kind of system. I remember being down at Lost lagoon in Stanley park once and a pair of geese were looking after about 40 little ones…very cute.
    I think I may have to take a trip to the park…there must be babies around there somewhere..

  6. April 15, 2010 at 6:32 pm

    Yup pairs, that is the only way I see the geese around here. I need to go to the bird reserve and get some photos before they all fly north.

  7. April 15, 2010 at 7:52 pm

    What a landing!! He provided a wonderful action shot.

  8. April 15, 2010 at 10:23 pm

    A great action shot, and I love the water droplets in the air. It doesn’t take much figuring to solve the problem of what they’re going to be doing.

  9. April 17, 2010 at 8:17 am

    Great action-photo. Good that the goose is in the baack so one can imagine him/her going forward. You captured the water-splash nicely to

    Christina

  10. April 17, 2010 at 9:28 pm

    We’re on the migration path here and I only ever see them in flocks, not pairs. This shot is wonderful – you captured the water and the open beak perfectly and the reflections only add to the dramatic look.

  11. April 18, 2010 at 4:17 pm

    Great action in the water, wings and that open beak!

  12. April 20, 2010 at 7:13 am

    Nice catch! Perfect picture for the theme with the water splash and the composition.


Leave a Reply

