11
Jun
10

Great Outdoors

Combined two pictures to come up with this image.

6/-16-10: This is in response to a comment from Judi Clark. I created this image by taking two photos using a tripod-this is key. One image was exposed for the highlights (the sky) and the other for the shadows (the landscape). Then in PSE 7, I combined the photos using a layer mask. The mask let me remove the blown out blah sky and allowed the sky to show through. Then I processed the photo the way I process most photos – using levels etc. Hope this is helpful.

5 Responses to “Great Outdoors”


  1. 1 Tammy McChesney
    June 11, 2010 at 8:40 pm

    Absolutely breathtaking…the greens and blues are pure eye candy!

  2. June 12, 2010 at 1:18 pm

    I really like your photos from nature, so fresh and green!
    Thanks for your comment and suggestion about straight horizon. It is absolutely something to think more about. As a total amateur I learn a lot from you bloggers 🙂
    However, I am an impulsive photographer….. so I click before I think :-O

  3. June 12, 2010 at 10:12 pm

    Beautiful, and I never would have guessed you combined images. The processing is well done! What I really like about it is how well it exemplifies the theme. You look at the image and you see the great outdoors in all it’s glory.

  4. June 14, 2010 at 11:21 pm

    I, too, would never have guessed it was a combo image! Beautiful sky really adds to the green in this one. Very peaceful and serene.

  5. June 15, 2010 at 7:57 pm

    Oh, this fits the theme! I’m glad that you mentioned that you used two photos to get this one… but I think you should tell us a bit more of your trade secrets 🙂 I’m intrigued.


Leave a Reply

