14
Jun
10

Ball

The ball is about to hit my son in the head. He would prefer me to say that he was about to head the ball! As a mother I hate seeing the kids hit headers. I worry that they are scrambling their brains. Of course in this picture he still had a lot of hair to cushion the blow!

8 Responses to “Ball”


  1. June 14, 2010 at 5:44 pm

    Timing – The World Game.

  2. June 14, 2010 at 11:22 pm

    Nice capture without a hint of blur! How fun to watch your son compete.

  3. June 15, 2010 at 9:17 am

    Hi!
    Great action shot! Love all the texture and color in this shot. Have a great day!

    Sherrie

  4. June 15, 2010 at 7:59 pm

    Nice shot! I like the way he is lean to get the ball.

  5. 5 Tammy McChesney
    June 16, 2010 at 7:01 pm

    LOL, whenever my boys do this I think “brain damage”!! Great stop the motion image!

  6. June 20, 2010 at 10:09 pm

    Nice action shot – you’ve captured him in sharp clarity. I find myself wishing there was just a bit more room at the top of the pic between the edge of the frame and the ball, but in these action shots that’s a challenging thing to try and compose for. Did you use single shot or burst mode? I keep forgetting about my burst mode option when I’m doing action shots.

    • June 21, 2010 at 10:26 am

      Thanks for your comments. I redid the crop leaving a little more space above the ball. When shooting soccer I always use the burst mode. I am not good enough to capture action without using it. Also when I read about sports (action) photography, everyone or just about everyone recommends shooting in a burst mode. That way most of the time you stand a chance of getting a good shot. Try it.


Leave a Reply

