24
Jun
10

Hawk in Connecticut

Today I was startled by a hawk as I was picking up all sorts of twigs and sticks and such following a wicked thunder storm. Turns out there are two and possibly a third. Not really crazy about them in my backyard. However as long as they are there I will take pictures.  I know Doris posted a wonderful photo of a hawk today. Unlike her hawk who was in need of help, I think our hawks are fine and healthy.

This image was taken from my deck with a focal length of 280mm and I cropped the image . This as as close I wanted to get!

In my post-processing, I used some ideas I picked up from a tutorial in Be Creative 137 in Elements Village.

5 Responses to “Hawk in Connecticut”


  1. June 24, 2010 at 11:04 pm

    I envy you, but would have advanced clicking very slowly, nothing could have stopped me, and I for one feel yours is the right approach.

  2. June 25, 2010 at 9:04 am

    Yes, and I posted a healthy hawk earlier this month too. Not bad for a far away shot! I like that we can see his eye… and pretty tail feathers. Whatever post processing tricks you used seem to work.

  3. 3 Tammy McChesney
    June 25, 2010 at 9:57 am

    Wonderful shot…even though you don’t like them in your backyard…you do have to admit that is one beautiful hawk! I am glad you liked the challenge, the technique really made the hawk stand out a bit!

  4. June 28, 2010 at 12:47 am

    I wish I could get that close to a hawk in the wild. I only see them in the Wildlife Center where they can’t be released because of injuries. Good story in this image. I like the Creative 137 application, too.

  5. June 30, 2010 at 9:29 pm

    He seems intent on something – wonderful opportunity you had, and it resulted in a nice capture.


Leave a Reply

