03
Nov
10

Smudge painting

I really have not yet started the themes for November. This is a photo I recently took at my favorite local park. My latest obsession is smudge painting. I have been meaning to try it for a while and have finally tried doing it. This is my second attempt. It is really a lot of fun.

 

Added 11/4/10 – Smudge painting is using the smudge tool (brush) to turn a photo into more of a painting.

From Adobe’s help utility-

The Smudge tool simulates the actions of dragging a finger through wet paint. The tool picks up color where the stroke begins and pushes it in the direction you drag

8 Responses to “Smudge painting”


  1. 1 Tammy McChesney
    November 3, 2010 at 1:07 pm

    I have been wanting to try this as well….beautiful result!

  2. November 3, 2010 at 4:31 pm

    I don’t understand the method, looks like preening to me! Ducky.

  3. 3 Bobbie
    November 4, 2010 at 8:59 pm

    This is a perfect subject for your new technique. It lends itself beautifully to that painterly style.

  4. November 5, 2010 at 12:48 am

    Nicely done! I love the look of this. Seems like the sort of technique that one could get lost in. As in “oops where did those 2 hours go?”

  5. November 5, 2010 at 4:56 am

    looks great as well as the photo with nice reflection

  6. 7 Ian
    November 15, 2010 at 3:52 pm

    I like it. Beautiful!!

  7. November 17, 2010 at 6:28 pm

    Love this group! So many techniques, so many ways to never leave my computer! Anyway, this is beautiful… I look forward to seeing more experiments.


Leave a Reply

