09
Dec
10

Festive

Today is the last day of Hanukah (it is very early this year). Our symbol of the holiday is the menorah which holds eight candles – one for each of the eight days the oil, which was only enough for one day, burned after the Temple was destroyed a very long time ago.  The ninth candle is the shamash or “servant” candle which lights the other candles.

Following are photos of two menorahs. The first is the menorah my family used when I was a child. The second is one of the menorahs my daughter and her family use. While they represent  the same thing, my daughter’s is a lot more fun!

Both were taken without a flash.

 

 

6 Responses to “Festive”


  1. 1 Tammy McChesney
    December 9, 2010 at 12:15 pm

    That first image is just stunning! And I love that second one as well…it is so fun and those reflections are very cool!

  2. December 9, 2010 at 1:43 pm

    great, the first one looks so peaceful and I’m happy they do modern versions that might attract younger people. I prefer the simple ordinary one, it’s lovely!

  3. December 9, 2010 at 6:47 pm

    Both are beautiful. I never saw one like the bottom photo. I especially like that neither is fully lit and thus it tells us we are in the midst of the holiday. Not just a staged photo.

  4. December 9, 2010 at 6:54 pm

    So much life and action in both shots and I just love the fun of the second one!

  5. 5 Bobbie
    December 9, 2010 at 11:04 pm

    As the darkness grows, we light candles to counter it with the light of our faiths (we Catholics have the Advent wreath, lighting one more candle every Sunday before Christmas.) Both of your photos have such a lovely warm glow; and it’s hard to get a photo of candles where the flame isn’t blown out but you can still see something of the background. I love the top one: the composition, the exposure, the subtle streams of light from the flames, the soft warm tones: it speaks of a tradition thousands of years old but always new.

  6. December 14, 2010 at 1:16 am

    I love the glow you caught in both of these. Tricky to do I think. A fun pairing too.


Leave a Reply

