23
Dec
10

Large – Holiday Large

Yesterday my DH took off from work and we went to NYC. At this time of year New York is alive and exciting. We went to a show, had some dinner and walked around. The tree in Rockefeller Center is always something very special. I think the hundreds of people who were there would say the same thing! Of course I couldn’t go into the city without a camera. I took my old Canon S3 – easier to carry, especially given the crowds. Here is my photo of the tree. I did have to boost the color of the lights. There was no way I could have used a tripod or taken a long exposure. Consequently the lights on the tree needed a little boost!

 

6 Responses to “Large – Holiday Large”


  1. December 23, 2010 at 4:06 pm

    Absolutely glorious hand held night shot.

  2. December 23, 2010 at 6:47 pm

    The tree looks magnificent, would love to be there to see it for myself! I’d even put my skates on..

  3. 3 regularman
    December 25, 2010 at 1:07 pm

    There’s nothing like the city during the holidays is there Deena? Nice shot.

  4. 4 Bobbie
    December 25, 2010 at 10:48 pm

    I lived in Manhattan when I was a very little girl. I can remember going to see the tree at Rockfeller Center every year and watching the skaters and wishing that some day, I’d skate there. It’s the essence of urban Christmas. I don’t miss the city–couldn’t wait to leave–but pictures like yours bring me back to the Christmases of my early childhood, which were warm and wonderful. they had that quality of exuberant light against grey-black that your photo captures so well.

  5. 5 Tammy McChesney
    December 27, 2010 at 11:05 am

    I commented on this over at the village, it is just stunning!

    I have tried adding your new blog to my reader (and so have a few others) and it won’t let us…maybe it is a setting??


Leave a Reply

